A Valentine Card

2005-02-14
2:26 p.m.

My darling,

This is your real Valentine's card. A letter to tuck away in that box you've labeled "Anna". One to re-read on the occasion you want to remember.

I've always said "I love you". But I've not been good at explaining what that means. Let me try here.

Loving you means that, given a choice between some of you, or none of you, I would always take some of you. And wish for all of you.

Loving you means I celebrate the person that you have been, are now, and seek to become.

Loving you means admiring and participating in your faith, your beliefs, and your passions. Not because you want me to, but because I want to.

Loving you means steadfastly supporting your choices. Because any choice made will always be the right one.

Loving you means that when I took my personal inventory I knew I could promise you all that I am, all that I can be, and all that you ask for, when you are ready to ask.

Loving you means being absolutely sure I can love you the rest of my life. Not in spite of it all, but because of it all.

Loving you means that, like Martin Luther King, I've had time to dream. Somewhere out west is a cabin on a little patch of ground. A canoe sits on its rack, a pickup in the driveway and a well-used motorcycle under the tree where the horses sometimes graze. We sit on a wrap-around porch watching the sun set over the lake. At night the fire, the candles, and the music are the backdrop. As the hour lengthens we turn from our respective musings, our eyes meet and we smile in anticipation. Later, as we hold one another tightly, basking in the afterglow we thank the Maker for one more day together, and for the forever we've become.

Loving you is a decision. One I have re-affirmed every year of my life. I make that decision once again, today. And with this letter I create a contract and a commitment. When you are ready for me, just say "Come to me". I promise you, without reservation

1. Fidelity
2. Friendship
3. Romance
4. Passion
5. Trust
6. and a belief in us so strong it will last until "Death do us part".

Here is my heart. You are the only person I've ever trusted to keep it safe. I'll wait for you.

Always and Forever,
Anna

0 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map