The Daffodil Principle

2005-03-05
2:03 p.m.

In hopes of passing wonderful things along, I send to you something I got from an online diarist - kilowatt - she always finds the best things.

The Daffodil Principle
By Jaroldeen Asplund Edwards


Several times my daughter had telephoned, "Mother, you must come and see the daffodils before they are over." Finally, I promised, reluctantly. I'd driven only a few miles when the road was covered with wet, gray fog. As I slowly executed the hazardous mountain turns, I was praying to reach the turnoff. When I finally walked into Carolyn's house, I said, "Forget the daffodils, Carolyn! There is nothing that I want to see bad enough to drive another inch in this weather!"


"I'll drive," Carolyn offered. In a few minutes, we were back on the Rim-of- the-World road heading over the top of the mountain.


We parked in a small parking lot adjoining a little stone church. I saw a pine needle covered path, and an inconspicuous, hand lettered sign "Daffodil Garden." I followed Carolyn down the path. Then we turned a corner. It looked as though someone had taken a great vat of gold and poured it down every crevice and over every rise. Even in the mist, the mountainside was radiant, clothed in massive drifts and waterfalls of daffodils. A charming path wound through the garden with several resting stations, with Victorian wooden benches and great tubs of tulips. It didn't matter that the sun wasn't shining. Five acres of flowers!


"But who?" I asked Carolyn. "Just one woman," Carolyn answered. "That's her home." On the patio, we saw a poster. "Answers to the Questions I Know You Are Asking" was the headline. The first answer was simple. "50,000 bulbs." The second was, "One at a time, by one woman, two hands, two feet, and very little brain." The third was, "Began in 1958."


There it was. The Daffodil Principle. For me it was a life changing experience. I thought of this woman, who, more than thirty-five years before, had begun one bulb at a time to bring beauty and joy to an obscure mountain top. No shortcuts, loving the slow process of planting. She had changed her world. Her daffodil garden taught me about learning to move toward our goals and desires one step at a time, learning to love the doing, learning to use the accumulation of time.


"It makes me sad in a way," I admitted. "What might I have accomplished if I had thought of a wonderful goal thirty-five years ago and worked away at it all those years.

My wise daughter responded, "Start tomorrow."

A&F
A

0 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map