A Twilight Beacon

2005-04-03
7:33 p.m.

Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure, than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much because they live in the grey twilight that knows neither victory nor defeat.
~~ Theodore Roosevelt

"Hi Anna, I know I haven't been very good this week about contact so I thought I'd call. I didn't get some of your emails and your Easter e-card until just today. Thank you, it was beautiful...and meaningful."

"I've missed you, Ben. I've missed your voice. I'm always a little worried when I don't hear from you. Afraid, you know, that you....and she....well, that part of my contentment is not your responsibility...it's mine. It's the only insecurity I have where you're concerned."

"I sorry. I think I've been a little depressed about lack of work the last week. But I just got a new job that will take about a week and a half. And, I've made a decision, I'm going to go after a union painter job. It feels good to finally make a decision about this."

"I'm so glad you have. I always want you to do what's best for you."

"I know you do. And I'm taking another step as well. I'm going to have another talk with her. Maybe the third time's the charm. I know she's not what I'm looking for, she's not really good for me, and I can't feel guity about breaking it off. I'm not responsible for her happiness."

"Oh - well, I can't say I'm not happy to hear that too. You need someone healthy...who's come to terms with their own life. Why, someone like me, for instance!! I'm perfect for you!"

"I know."

"I don't think you always remember. And what you don't know is that, when the time comes, you can have me. All it takes is five little words. Just say Come to me right now. I'll be on a plane in a week."

"Do you mean that?"

"Yes."

"I don't know what to say. But I'll remember it. I promise I will remember it."

"Sometimes I feel that you are uncomfortable when I say I love you. But it's who I am. I can't be anything other than a forthright, honest, real kinda girl. I want to know right away if something I do bugs you. I can't fix what I don't know about. And I'll do the same for you. No games, no holding back. And I tell you how I feel about you so you will always remember."

"Sometimes I do feel uncomfortable. But it doesn't mean I want you to stop. I think you haven't always had honesty in your life so I don't want you to be anything other than who you are. I know I don't say it, it's not where I can be right now. But now is not tomorrow and I expect tomorrow will dawn, just as it does after every nightfall."

"Perhaps you're just lost in the twilight. I can wait. Meanwhile, let's find a hilltop. Let's strip off our clothes and make love in the spring sun. Then we'll run down to bathe in the cold spring water. It's Missouri - there's always spring water somewhere. Let's bounce around in the pickup truck going nowhere. Let's listen to the music and just dance."

"It sounds wonderful. And Perfect."

"Until soon then. I'll keep the light on for you."

"I'll find you. Until soon."

0 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map