The New Ten Commandments

2005-04-10
10:49 p.m.

1. Strive to stay in an ever present now. You have no control over the past or the future. Only choices about this moment. Ask yourself the same question every morning and every night. What would I do differently if today were the last day of my life?

2. Life is not a dress rehearsal. This is it. You don't get to practice your lines and go on when you get them right. You can't wait for the next big role to be what you want to be. You can't pretend you're something you aren't. Don't wear costumes you can't change.

3. The world, the whole universe, is your canvas. Everything is yours for the asking. Every rock, flower, moonbeam, kitten, wave is a gift. Cherish every sight, sound, smell, and touch.

4. We are all connected. There is only one soul.

5. The expression of this connection is humanities' greatest talent, and deepest fulfillment.

6. Respect is recognizing and honoring the divine in every creation.

7. Sex? It's the road by which the naked hearts travel together with the naked bodies to places people have no other way to get to.

8. Love thy neighbor as thyself, not more not less. Loving yourself means honoring the temple we're gifted to inhabit, and nourishing our neighbors' temples.

9. Give away everything. Everything you give comes back over and over. There is no lack in the universe. Only abundance. The whole universe has been recirculating forever.

10. Believe that faith, hope and trust are inexplicably intertwined. And love? Love is all there is. " . . . . . .the more I give the more I have to give."

I constantly question what I need to do to take care of myself. Yes to trust. And I know that I will trust again, and that I will be vulnerable again.

Somehow my cup's always half empty. No matter how I try. Surely a reflection of how I'm not good enough. I don't know how to trust that I am good enough, no matter how many leaps of faith I take.

Tonight I need massage. Long, slow, deep massage. Starting with my head, down my back, all the way to my feet and up and over my front back to my head. Every square centimeter needs to be touched. Candles. Fragrances. Oil. And then sleep. A writer I liked suggested I never say "but". Only "and". Also never say "can't" only "won't". When I want to say I can't trust I say won't trust. And I am empowered to choose.

0 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map