Taking My Own Advice

2005-06-16
2:27 p.m.

I wanted a perfect ending. Now I've learned, the hard way, that some poems don't rhyme, and some stories don't have a clear beginning, middle, and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what's going to happen next. Delicious Ambiguity.

~Gilda Radner

Wherein Anna tells a story about giving advice:

A friend of mine recently began complaining that she just wasn�t feeling good. Didn�t want to leave the house, had no energy, just had the blahs that had gotten worse over the last couple months. Her husband, who had been The One, died a few years ago and she just figured the changes were symptoms of lingering grief.

I hate to be an advice giver because 1. I didn't want to sound like a nudge (pronounced "noodge" as any good jewish mother could tell you, except I'm not). 2. I didn't want to sound like a mom (cause I was not hers and she is a perfectly grown adult) and 3. well, there's no three. (ok, this is a lie � I always give advice � it�s up to you whether you want to take it).

Last year, my own dear doc, in her inimitable way, decided I needed one of the new blood pressure meds to help control my migraines - even though my blood pressure, if anything, is usually too low. Inderal, god love it, actually did a lot of good. But the oh so unfortunate side effects (which no one bothered to mention) were depression, sleeplessness, severe nightmares, sensitivity to being touched, blah blah blah.

After spending four months laying on the couch in a semi-catatonic state (altho with many fewer migraines!) and blaming it all on depression surrounding the on-off relationship with Ben and the dreary day to day drudgery of Mr. Lucky, I decided (good computer guru that I am) to go LOOK IT UP. Damn. If I'd done that to begin with I wouldn't have lost four months of my life.

So - I brought this up (in the kindest most generous way as I'm sure all of her doctors were very competent - it's just they often get a little busy and expect YOU to read the inserts the druggists normally fail to give us unless we ask) and suggested that she ask if some of her symptoms were simply unintentional side effects.

And I hope with all my heart that she can get at least some part of her life back.

2 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map