To Arubee or Not Arubee, that's the question

2011-12-14
6:45 p.m.

I'm not sure how the entire world got to be so topsy-turvy. It is almost like living every day in an out-of-body experience.

Everyone here at Diaryland is gone - or locked up. Some I know the links to, but I wish they linked back here. It's too difficult to search down all the new blogs when I only have a moment or two. I sorely miss them.

Christmas - and another New Year - almost here. Again. Time moving so fast I can no longer keep up. An entire year gone....and at my age, that's about 5% of what's left of life itself. Maybe 20 more Christmases. Twenty more birthdays. On a countdown. Unless I can figure out how Lazarus Long did it.

And oddly - going into a New Year somewhere I never dreamed I would be. Absolutely alone. Every time I have to fill out an "Emergency Contact" I just leave it blank. I used to use my daughter - but that relationship has ended so completely it is all I can do to go to her blog every day or so and catch up. I do it anyway - it keeps me tied to the children, even if it doesn't keep the children tied to me.

However, in this economy I can at least thank my lucky stars for a great job that, unless I really screw it up, will last as long as I want (or need) to work. And for the benefits that go along with it.

AND for the small monthly check that will soon be coming monthly from an ex-husband. The divorce agreement from all those years ago gave me a portion of his monthly retirement check based on the number of years we were married. And he's been retired for three years without telling me (asshole) so when I suddenly realized that if I was my age, he was 65, I called my lawyer and said GET IT NOW. Apparently the ex doesn't want to fight it (not that he can - he signed the damn agreement)so I'll get a check for three years of catch-up, then a monthly check directly from the pension fund.....as long as he lives. YIPPEE. I could use a little extra per month to put into my own retirement fund.

That - or go to Aruba for the holidays. Wonder if Southwest flies anywhere warm......

1 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map