Bastardo Romantico

2008-02-15
9:20 a.m.

So I got tired of sitting on my ass hoping someone would come to me � and I joined Match.com on Monday.

I�ve never done online dating before (unless you count �you know who�, which was hardly dating as there was no long-term reward in sight) and I decided to really do it my way. I didn�t bother to look at a single profile (what you say about yourself) before I did my own. Just jumped in and made it up as I went. It turns out mine is quite unique compared to the others on the site. Which could have been either a good thing....or a bad one.

So far � I would call it a good thing. I�ve piqued the interest of several very attractive men that are age and geographically desireable - and spoken to three of them on the phone. All of whom intrigued me. I went out with one last night (Valentine�s....me....a date...a FIRST date....who would have guessed it) and it was unexpectedly delightful. He looked exactly like his picture, and was as charming and funny as his e-mails and telephone conversations had led me to believe. And a doctor. My mother would have been so proud.

We had dinner at a restaurant neither of us had been to before but it was close to my office (unfortunately � we realized it was completely vegetarian after we ordered appetizers and started looking for meat courses). And we sat there a long long time just talking and laughing.

Since I have a long train ride home � and it was after 11:00 when we decided to bring the evening to a close, he loaned me his much-warmer hat (I had dressed �cute� but not nearly warm enough) and some self-defense tips �just in case�. (which I thought was adorable, if unnecessary...it�s as busy at 11:00 as it is at 7:00 on the streets of NYC). But he was knowledgeable about the subject and it was fun practicing.

When I got home � I sent the following email:

The weather was cold.
The food was lukewarm.
The hat was toasty.
The kisses were hot, hot, hot.

And I didn�t have to kill anyone on the way home!


And shortly after I arrived home the phone rang. And he sang �Besame Mucho� softly in my ear.

I think I may be willing to see this �Bastardo Romantico� again.

8 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map