Cursed Happenstance Redux

2008-03-16
1:30 p.m.

I have a talent. A talent � or insufferable bad luck, if you will � to find myself constantly embroiled in the midst of unexpected attractions, love disasters, or cursed happenstances having to do with the opposite sex - despite all my best cross my heart hope to die efforts to stay out of their way. I have made it a full-time occupation to trust nothing of romantic entanglements of the heart so I almost admired the devilish ingenuity romantic fortune displayed in finding and inflicting itself upon me once again. What is there about me that seems worth the trouble?

And here are the statistics after a little over a month �back in the real world� and dealing with Match.com (which, honestly, could be a full-time job if you aren�t careful)

Bike Rider � still seeing him. He wanted last weekend to be THE weekend, but I had a horrible cold and didn�t go out. I was scheduled to go back to Virginia this weekend but didn�t go because:

Il Bastardo Romantico� - had just gotten back from over a week in the Dominican Republic and I wanted to celebrate my birthday on Friday only with him. And the problem? Ah, children, it is simple. Gabriel left an indelible stain upon my soul. He raped my heart, played with my mind. I believed him. I gave my self to him. And Bastardo could easily take what is left and it terrifies me to no end.

Others?

Supper with Questhero � nice Italian guy but nothing in common. Wanted to see me again, but I just didn�t answer the email. Runs a non-profit

Supper with Imagine6871 � he was at least 15 years older looking than his photo and didn�t look at me the whole couple of hours. Hate that!! Runs another non-profit for benefit of children.

Several dates with villageron7th � what a shame. A bright, successful, funny, gorgeous Wall Street trial attorney, but with a 3-martini starter to the evening accompanying a personality change that was uncomfortable for me. So perhaps, too early, I let him know the drinking bothered me even though I wanted to see more of him � and he basically said the drinks were more important.

Date tonight with a Broadway playwright. Should be interesting.

And two next week after work with various fascinating folks.

Plus the ongoing email/phone call check each other outs with a couple more.

And the problem with all this attention? The Bastardo is messing with my mind. I joined Match Feb 10, he emailed me Feb 11 and we went out Feb 14. And twice since then (and only twice because he lives in Brooklyn which is almost an hour away by train, works nights as an attending physician in a hospital, and I work days. Plus he was pretty gone for 10 days with the vacation.)

My daughter says I should be looking for money. I�m in Manhattan, after all. Maybe she�s right. Maybe the soul connection should be the least of my search criteria.

My inner voice says stop now. Before it is too late. Before he makes his way through the final barrier and it becomes something even I cannot walk away from. But it would leave too much unanswered, too many questions hanging about. None of it makes any sense. Then again, life isn�t about making sense. There is no requirement for an answer to life�s mysteries. In fact, the odds are that when you die, you�ll die in ignorance at some level no matter what.

4 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map