A Fall of Do-Overs

2008-12-13
3:19 p.m.

What an interesting last couple of months, ending finally � yesterday � with some good news.

I think I left off last time with trying to decide what to do on the heart front. I had several choices with Bastardo� � leave him, change our relationship to friends, or do nothing. It was a difficult choice, but I decided to try option #3 for a little while to see what would happen.

After all, when I really, really, stopped to think about it � it was ME pushing him to change, then becoming hurt and angry when it wasn�t forthcoming. And while I had the right to ask, perhaps it wasn�t right to get mad when I didn�t get my way.

So I took a deep cleansing breath, let him know how I felt, then gave him some time to work out what he wanted to do about it.

We celebrate 10 months together tomorrow and couldn�t be happier. Seems he was as afraid I would choose another over him, as I was he would choose another over me. It was just a matter of trust.

The entire family, and some friends, were together on Thanksgiving � yes, Bastardo� too � and everyone got along just great. It seemed that a mutual do-over was decided on which created a wonderful holiday. Especially so for him. He couldn�t remember ever having had that kind of a family oriented holiday and it really touched him.

In other news, I lost my job October 17. Yep � big bad boss calls me into his office on Friday at 5:00 to say � �this is your last day�. Then stood guard as I cleaned out my desk. My receptionist had been laid off two weeks before. It was a small family owned construction business and with the economy on the downtown he summarily terminated all the staff as soon as the business was ready to close down for the winter. Instead of paying the staff (or the bills!!) he was planning to pull the balance of the receivables out of the company to support his WAY too luxurious Upper East Side Park Avenue penthouse wife�s lifestyle. I have no idea how he is managing - since I computerized and templated every system that had been in place, from contracts to bookkeeping. So much so that even the accountant wouldn�t know how to do it any more. It took me a while to adopt an �I don�t care� attitude because I take on a new company like adopting a child.

He was so paranoid I would �steal� something from the computer I set up he wouldn�t even consider allowing me to train the new receptionist to keep things going through the winter. So you know? F-K em!!

A little scary to get laid off in the worst economy in my lifetime, but I got a job offer yesterday for a great job and accepted. Start January 5, so off through holidays � but that�s a good thing since I can enjoy the family and the tree and prezzies without having to go into work. I was able to afford the time off (total of only two months and I was getting unemployment) so not suffering financially.

Being off allowed Bastardo� and I to spend a lot more time together. I may have mentioned he works nights and is typically off during the week (but keeps his sleep schedule even on days off). So I�ve been going down on Tuesday around 4:00 when he gets up and staying until he goes to work Thursday night. He adjusted slightly and I stayed up later so it�s been wonderful. We plan to keep spending the same number of evenings together��although I will surely miss the long afternoons.

Well, I guess that�s all the news that is the news. Nothing earth shattering. A kind of �every day is a good day�.

I can�t complain.

2 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map