East Side, West Side

2008-06-14
12:03 a.m.

Tuesday we went to see the Telectroscope at the foot of the Brooklyn Bridge. Check out the link for more info � but it is a giant Jules Verne looking contraption and if you stand on our end you can see LIVE people standing on the other end��..in London. Wave at them, go ahead, make signs and trade phone numbers�.whatever.

A grand time until we decided it was late, thunder was rumbling and we thought �hey, take a taxi home�.

It�s a six mile ride down the west side of the borough of Brooklyn. Now if you think of Brooklyn as an round clock face that has a road running all around the outside rim you�ll get this scenario.

We were at 10:00. We needed to go to 7:00. Six miles � about $20.

We get into a cab and tell him where we�re going. We give him exact directions on how to get on the Parkway that runs around the clock face. Go south. He decided to go his way. So instead of heading towards the 9:00 position � he heads towards 11:00.

Then 12:00, 1:00, 3:00 etc all the way around. Thirty miles and $75 dollars. We passed LaGuardia and Kennedy airports. It was a tour. I was jumping up and down mad, but Gregory was in charge, and I kept quiet. He just kept saying calmly�.good man, now let�s get in the right lane.. let�s take this exit�.oops missed that one�.ok, let�s try again. One more time. I didn�t quite get it until I got a text message and email the next morning after I left for work.


My Woman

And this shall be My journal entry in your log for today
Please feel free to mis-quote me when you post it
I've redacted it for chronological consistency and continuity

Your Man
--- --- --- --- --- ---

The Taxi Ride From Hell aka East Side, West Side, All Around The Town

--- --- ---Txt Msg:

was extra patient and calm -> My Woman�s Safety = 1st

--- --- E-mail:

how geeks say i don�t not love u

-------
If I were alone, it might have been a different story
But when My Woman's Life is on the line, I am Mr. F-king Calm
So I kept assuring the driver that everything was ok
Since he was driving like a madman
was likely not from dis countree
and, my naive country mouse,
NYC taxi drivers are not quite sane

There is a time and place for Everything, my dearest
And your Man has lived long enough to know these times

For-Ever,
Your Man aka The Practical Genius
------

'cause there's Book-Smart
and then,
there's Life-Smart---

that's something that you only get from living a long long time

--- --- ---

And this, my sweet is one of the only things i really have
Its not "Smarts"
It�s Efficiency
It�s Wisdom

Which only comes from Living

Pretty simple, eh?

Thank you

Pay the nurse

Always,
Your Man


And this is looking at them � looking at us!!!


2 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map