ME ME ME FOUR

2005-12-18
1:04 a.m.

Welcome. We are here to conduct a fourth interview with Anna, and, hearing we were going to play, Mr. Lucky asked to participate in the fun. Put your hands together and give a warm welcome to our interviewer, Sarah.

Interviewer: Thank you, and good day everyone. We are going to play a delightful game called �If you were stranded on a deserted island...� You�ve probably played it with dates, best friends, boyfriends, even co-workers or dinner companions. It�s a great way to learn about other people. So, are you ready?

Anna: Oooh, I love this game.

Mr. Lucky: (looking at Anna) I thought you said we were going to play with another woman. When�s the sex?

Anna: (confused)

Interviewer: (laughing nervously) Oh, no, sorry, not THAT kind of playing � this is an interview done as a game. Do you still want to play, er...participate, er...answer?

Mr. Lucky: (big sigh) Fine. An island you say. How big is the island? Are you sure it�s an island, perhaps it is an isthmus. Which ocean is it in, is it sand, or does it have trees? I could make a raft. And how did I get...

Interviewer: Wait, wait, this is just pretend. Let�s assume it is a small island in a warm climate, completely deserted, with no possibility of being rescued. What you have with you will have to last you for the rest of your life.

Mr. Lucky: ...there, you know, was there a boat wreck? Cause if there was a wreck there might be things I could use. If there�s no food, I won�t be there long anyway. So if you had�

Interviewer: (interrupting) Really � PRETEND, just pretend. Standard deserted tropical island, with available food and water, and you�re stuck there. Ready? First question. If you were on this island � (eyeing Mr. Lucky) whatever it is - which five books would you like to have with you, knowing they will be your lifetime library?

Anna: I�ll stick to classics. And it is so difficult because I like authors. Don Quixote, The Three Musketeers, Wuthering Heights, The Taming of the Shrew, The Past Through Tomorrow, and Foundation (oops, that's six). And poetry, something collected. And to top it off - The Velveteen Rabbit and The Little Prince.

Mr. Lucky: You�re cheating.

Anna: (apologetically) Oh, I know, but it�s only a game.

Interviewer: That�s ok...Your turn Mr. Lucky.

Mr. Lucky: Um, a book on how to survive on a desert island and�. well...I can't really think of anything else I'd want to read again.

Interviewer: (with a tight smile) Well, I said this was your fantasy. Ok, let�s try another one. How about movies this time. And before you ask, Mr. Lucky, we are going to pretend you have a DVD/CD player with unlimited power.

Mr. Lucky: There�s no such thing. It is not a scientifically sound principle. And if it were, couldn�t we just use the power for...

Interviewer: (exasperated) REALLY � THIS IS PRETEND.

Anna: Gone With the Wind, It Happened One Night, Pretty Woman, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Star Wars, ok - I can't stop, Bringing Up Baby, The Thin Man, Pay it Forward and just about anything with Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn together.

Mr. Lucky: You cheated again. Why can�t you play by the rules?

Anna: (attempting to smile brightly) Sorry, I can�t help it. This is supposed to be fun, remember. Now how about you?

Mr. Lucky: I don�t care what they are as long as they have as much scenery from other parts of the world as possible. That way I�ll have something to look at besides WHATEVER kind of island I�m pretending to be on.

Interviewer: Let�s try one more shall we. Music this time. And remember that DVD/CD player has unlimited power.

Anna: Norah Jones, Sarah Brightman, Elvis Presley, Tchaikovsky, Jimmy Buffett, Burton Cummings. I�m seriously eclectic. If I could have �Greatest Hits� I think I�d pick 19th Century Composers instead of just Tchaikovsky, and maybe �Beach Music� instead of Presley so I could get them all.

Mr. Lucky: (sighing deeply and clenching his jaw) Umm, I guess some Oldies. You know, a Greatest Hits like Little Richard, Sam & Dave. And maybe some Ray Charles. Could we go back to that whole unlimited power thing�

Interviewer: (firmly) NO. Moving on, let�s have one last question. Mr. Lucky, let�s start with you this time. What book has had the most profound effect on your life?

Mr. Lucky : I liked Ayn Rand. (blink, blink)

Anna: (determined to ignore him) Oh dear, just one? There has been one at the cusp of every change in my life and none of them novels. �The Art of Loving� by Erich Fromm, and Hermann Hesse�s �Narcissus and Goldman� moved me into an adult way of thinking in 1963. During my last divorce I was given �Toxic Parents� by Susan Forward and it helped me come to grips with some childhood guilt. I give �he�s just NOT that into you� by Greg Behrendt to absolutely everyone I know. And (staring straight ahead and trying to keep a straight face) there is something profound in Connell Cowan�s �Smart Women, Foolish Choices�.

Mr. Lucky:

Interviewer : (clearing throat) . Well, I�d certainly like to thank both of you for joining us today and playing the game. If our audience would like to find out more about Anna, please visit our previous interviews at :

ME ME ME

ME ME ME TOO

ME ME ME THREE

101 Things

Standard Diaryland Profile Stuff which insists on opening in its own page. Return to my diary by clicking the username at the top.


Editor�s Note: This interview was taken from an actual incident. All resemblance to living persons are absolutely accurate. No animals were harmed in the making of this interview.
Unfortunately.

3 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map