Meh

2005-07-03
12:01 p.m.

For weeks I've been trying to figure out what "Meh" means in the context of a diary/blog. You see, I am accustomed to this sound in the context of motherhood.

Me: �Do you want a cookie?�
Morgan (age 1) �Meh�

Me: �Do you want to go to school?�
Morgan (age 5) �Meh�

Me: �Do you want me to invite that boy to your party?�
Morgan (age 11) �Meh�

Me: �Do you want me to pick you up from the movies?�
Morgan (age 14) �Meh�

Me: �Do you want to show me your grades?�
Morgan (age 17) �Meh�

Me: �Do you want to meet my new boyfriend?�
Morgan (age 21) �Meh�

From the aforementioned exchanges we see that "Meh" means, among other things, �Yes, give me that cookie now and I will love you forever, or at least for the next fifteen minutes until I forget you gave me that cookie� or �Are you stark raving mad, I wouldn�t be seen being picked up by my mother if Jason and Freddy were both after me and I needed the ride to save my life.�

Obviously, the motherhood interpretation didn't fit. In lieu of absolute knowledge, I attempted to interpret the meaning based on the surrounding text in the entry:

Meh � Mostly excessive hooey
Meh � Men entertained here
Meh � Misogynistic extemporaneous harangue
Meh � Morbid existential hack
Meh � Misplaced euphemisms hated
Meh � Muckraking evil harridan
Meh � Mysterious elvish hex
Meh � Majorly exciting hai (look it up)

I could go on and on, but you get the picture. So imagine my surprise when I finally found Urban Dictionary . Morgan was, apparently, correct all along.

Meh

1. Indifference; to be used when one simply does not care.

Me: What do you want for dinner?
Morgan: Meh.
2. A phrase used by the young when they are in need of something
Example of needs:
- Food
- Disneyland
- Cash
- Car keys
3. To show confusion
Me: Shall I pick you up at 10?
Morgan: meh?
4. To express displeasure
Me: Go make your bed.
Morgan: Meh�..


And just in case you were wondering (I know I was):

Chea

1. An affirmative response
2. An exclamation
3. An agreeing response
4. A greeting
5. A phrase used when parting with someone

1. Chea, i can pick you up later.
2. CHEA!!!!
3. Chea, that is a good movie.
4. Chea, hows it goin.
5. I'll see you tomorrow, chea.

4 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map