Hi Ho, Hi Ho, I'm the Grand Pooh-Bah

2008-01-21
8:37 p.m.

I am the Grand Pooh-bah of Grandma�s. No, really. At least to my 18-month old grandson who thinks Pooh is Number One.

You see, Grandma�s TV has TiVo. Which means �My Friends Tigger and Pooh� are available at any time of the day. As are crackers (graham), raisins, flowers (artificial), blocks (old favorites that mommy was going to give away) and hot dogs (turkey).

So, when boredom sets in and he�s tired of �Lady and the Tramp�, or �Gordy�, or �Big Bird Sings�, or �Meet the Numbers� or �Meet the Letters�, he shakes the gate at the bottom of my staircase hollering �Ma-Maw� (as opposed to Ma-Ma and they are really quite distinct at this point).

Once admitted, he marches up the stairs (ok, crawls) and into the pantry to pull down the graham cracker bees. They are in a zip loc so I have to hold one side (to prevent them being dumped wholeheartedly on the floor so he can find just the right graham). With graham or two in hand, he scurries into the bedroom, points at the TV (which is too high for him to turn on, unlike the one in the living room�..but sneaky grandma hasn�t shown him Pooh is available there yet) and says �POOH� meaningfully in my direction.

Assuming I agree (and I most always do), we sit on the bed for 20 minutes watching an episode of Pooh as he names all the characters, says �Think Think Think� while pointing at his head and kicks his feet with the scooters. (If you�re lost, imagine Pooh with a girl Darby and her dog Scooter taking the place of Christopher � and they all solve a mystery with costumes, a song and scooters.) Sometimes we bring down the stuffed characters to sit with us, and afterwards we go back to the living room to get the little plastic/rubber ones and act something out (usually kissing and running across the top of the table).

Ahh, it�s been the life the last few months � even if the house has taken a huge amount of work and I�m only about 2/3 done. Still need crown molding, base molding in the main rooms. And paint on two walls, a stairwell, three doors and doorframes, and two windows. Then there the ceiling - mud, sand, prime and paint, but it can wait a while. The bathroom walls suck � but at least I�ve sealed the shower and am self-sufficient there. Considering where it started � it�s pretty good!! I�ll post new pix this weekend.

Lastly � all good things must end�..so it�s off to work I go tomorrow to the new job. Not that I haven�t worked before. I�ve worked all my life until the last 18 months. But for the last 20 YEARS I�ve worked from home, only going into an office one day a week or so. Now it�s a trek to the East Village every day (1 mile to PATH train, 30 minute ride, trade to V, 15 minute ride and half mile walk to office) and East Harlem once the office moves in the next couple months. It will be interesting. There�s an office manager/accountant who�s been there 8 years and a part-time receptionist. I�m supposed to be the assistant to the owner and marketing director. And there�s no computer network. I�m not even sure there�s high speed internet. And no database. No, really. That�s why he said he needed me. Thing is, I�ve found that most people talk a good game � but if they are in this shape, in this day and age, they are basically resistant to change. And I�m all about change.

So � we�ll see what the week brings!! Wish me luck.

1 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map