Random natterings from a cluttered mind

2005-11-04
11:44 a.m.


I�ve had this one around for a while. Not sure where I first saw it, but I think augustdreams was credited at the time. Besides, I�m boring right now � so I�m sending my boring self your way. Hah � take that!

1. Name someone with the same birthday as you:

March was originally the first month of the Roman calendar because the winter months of January and February were unsuited for warfare, the essence of any Italic state. Julius Caesar's calendar reform in 45 BCE began the year on January 1. The tradition of starting the year in March continued in some countries for a long time. January 1 was only instituted as New Year's Day in France in 1564. Great Britain and her colonies continued to use March 25 until 1752, the same year they finally adopted the Gregorian calendar.

March 14: Holidays

**Japan - White Day: Japanese holiday similar to Valentines Day (men give gifts to women, as opposed to Valentine's Day, when women give gifts to men).
**Pi Day - written 3-14 in the USA date format, is an unofficial celebration for Pi Day derived from the common three-digit approximation for the number �: 3.14. It is usually celebrated at 1:59 PM (in recognition of the six-digit approximation: 3.14159).
**Roman Empire - Equirria, horse races in honor of Mars were held.

March 14 Birthdays

**Same Day: Albert Einstin (genius), Frank Borman (Astronaut), Johann Strauss (composer), Billy Crystal (comedian), [John] Casey Jones (RR engineer, Ballad of Casey Jones), Hank Ketcham (cartoonist, Dennis the Menace), Michael Caine (actor),

**Same Year: Michael Ford, son of President Gerald and Betty Ford, Rick Dees, American disc jockey

On This Date in History:

**1794 - Eli Whitney is granted a patent for the cotton gin.
**1900 - The Gold Standard Act is ratified, placing United States currency on the gold standard.
**1903 - Theodore Roosevelt issues an executive order making Pelican Island, in Florida, a �preserve and breeding ground for native birds,� marking the birth of the National Wildlife Refuge System.
**1964 - A jury in Dallas, Texas finds Jack Ruby guilty of killing John F. Kennedy assassin Lee Harvey Oswald.
**1989 - Gun control: President George H. W. Bush bans the importation of assault rifles into the United States.
**1996 - American President Bill Clinton commits $100 million to an anti-terrorism agreement with Israel to track down and root out terrorists.
**2004 - Vladimir Putin is re-elected president of Russia, while the PSOE wins elections in Spain just days after terrorist attacks in Madrid.

2. Where was your first real kiss?

Our family went to a party at the home of one of my father�s old army buddies. His son was several years older than myself. We had been flirting all day (ok, I was flirting) and as it got late on this beautiful warm summer day I found myself sitting with him on a porch swing. First the hand holding. Then the arm snuck around the shoulder. Then he pulled me closer. Then he kissed me � a real kiss, and it was a lovely well-done French kiss. We indulged until it was time to go. Ahhhh, I was twelve.

3. Have you ever seriously vandalized someone else's property?

Well, perhaps not �seriously�. I had a neighbor who was quite mean. A real bitch. And so proud of her darn flowers I could choke her. So one moonless night I snuck out of the house, and launched a commando strike on one of the pots. *sigh* I can�t say I haven�t regretted it.

4. Have you ever hit someone of the opposite sex?

Does S&M count? No? Ok, no. Despite the fact that someone�s of the opposite sex have hit me.

5. Have you ever sung in front of a large number of people?

Only in school choirs. I had a voice that could carry a tune � nothing special. Unfortunately, having ruptured both eardrums over the years, I wouldn�t wish my voice on a cockroach. But I can still tell if someone ELSE is singing off-key.

6. What's the first thing you notice about the preferred sex?

Ok, it�s mundane. But eyes first � and a smile second. But I�m not afraid to admit being a sucker for broad shoulders, small waists, and a great ass.

7. What really turns you on?

The kiss. It tells me everything I need to know.

8. What do you order at Starbucks?

What�s a Starbucks? No, really. I�m allergic to coffee so I�ve never been in one.

9. What is your biggest mistake?

Oh my gosh, where to start. Life would have been so different if I hadn�t married my first husband. Then again, I wouldn�t be where I am now. And if I�d just toughed it out after breaking up with my first true love, instead of running away to another city, I�d never have met�..well, everyone has those stories. Funny - my biggest mistakes have always had to do with relationships. Sometimes I wished there was a vaccination against falling in love. It has been my life�s greatest tragedy.

10. Have you ever hurt yourself on purpose?

Physically? No. Even getting my ears pierced was thrust upon me. Unless you count that time years and years ago with the valium.

11. Say something totally random about yourself.

I like to touch things. Fabrics, building materials, animals, people. And I like things to touch me.

12. Has anyone ever said you looked like a celebrity?

Years ago, when my hair was below my waist, (and before all her plastic enhancements) I was the same size as Cher. We had enough similarity I would go as her on Halloween.

13. Do you still watch kiddy movies or TV shows?

Nope, sorry. But I did watch Shrek on DVD.

14. Did you have braces?

Begged. Pleaded. Went to an orthodontist. Only got a little rubber bandy thing on two teeth � one upper and one lower. I hid my smile behind my hand most of my childhood and have noticed I�m doing it again.

15. Are you comfortable with your height?

I love being tall, although clothing manufacturers don�t take it into account. Just try buying a pair of pants in a size 2 with a 34� inseam. Most of my childhood was spent with pants and sleeves too short. Now that I can afford more expensive clothing (and manufacturers have wised up) it�s a lot easier. Of course, I�ve had a lot of interesting short men pass me up!!

16. What is the most romantic thing someone of the opposite sex has done for you?

Remembered important dates. My birthday. Valentines Day. The anniversary of our first date. Because it takes effort on their part to remember these things and do something about them.

17. When do you know it's love?

When he�s the first person I want to call after dialing 911. When I don�t feel like I have to run into the bathroom and put on makeup before he wakes up. When it�s ok to disagree. When it�s more important to stay, even when it�s hard, than to leave. When he knows why I�m crying.

18. Do you speak any other languages?

Si, un poco Espanol.

19. Have you ever been to a tanning salon?

Yes � it�s boring as hell. Why don�t they build DVD�s into those little eyeglass thingies.

20. What magazines do you read?

Lucky and Better Homes and Gardens. Both of which were gift subscriptions from my daughter.

21. Have you ever ridden in a limo?

Oh yeah. With the champagne and everything. Important occasions need someone else driving the car. Like first dates, for instance.

22. Has anyone you were really close to passed away?

Everyone close to me has passed away. There is no one left except my daughter, two first cousins, my stepmother, and a few second cousins I don�t really know.

23. Do you watch MTV?

Never did, never will. But I watched the Wolfman Jack Show> in the 70�s. Does that count?

24. What's something that really annoys you?

Where do I begin. Ok, I�ll pick just two. Un-helpful Help Desk. Why bother if the help is from an on-line database they quote (or email back to you) word for word without listening to the real issue. Hello, I�ve already read your manual � did what it said � and rebooted. TWICE.

And people (ok, mostly men) who won�t tell the truth. Just spit it out. Really. It will be easier on both of us.

25. What's something you really like?

There are too many things here. I like going to the theater. I like to make love when music is playing in the background. I like candlelight. I like warm summer nights. I like the ocean. I like to be touched and held by the man I love. I like the smell of oranges and chocolate. Ok, I quit � someday I�ll do a 101 Things.

26. Do you like Michael Jackson?

Michael Jackson, the guy who conceived Thriller. Yep. Michael Jackson who has degenerated into mental illness? Nope.

27. Can you dance?

I can couple dance extremely well � Hustle, Swing, Lindy, West Coast (well, all the swing styles actually), Cha-Cha, Rhumba, Fox Trot, Waltz (well, most of the ballroom but not as well as the swing styles).

Free style? Imagine Woody Allen dancing to Smoke on the Water. yeah, it�s that bad.

28. What's the latest you have ever stayed up?

Silly question. All night of course. One time, 48 hours straight. I was hallucinating by the end. (oh, never mind, that was at the beginning�.and the middle�.and ��)

29. Have you ever been rushed by an ambulance into the emergency room?

Just once. By the time I got there I was dead. No, really. And there was no going towards the light either. Sure hope heaven is here on earth.

30. Do you actually read these when other people fill them out?

Ok, call me crazy. I do � otherwise I wouldn�t have taken the time for this one. And by the way � assuming you�re down here now, how about leaving me a comment (just click on �reviews & comments� up on the sidebar). Let me know you were here and answer a question for me:

How do YOU know when it�s really love?

17 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map