Babysitting or A Day in the Life

2006-02-18
9:07 p.m.

Friday 3 pm

Mr. Lucky: *on phone* Oh, by the way, I invited a guy to spend the night tonight. He�ll probably be there before I get home.

Me: *gulp* Oh, ok. I�ve had a really bad migraine all day, but I can get the house ready for company. Will he need dinner?

Mr. Lucky: Don�t know.

Me: What time is he coming?

Mr. Lucky: Don�t know.

Me: What is his name?

Mr. Lucky: (thinking?) Um, don�t remember.

Me:

Friday 6 pm

Mr. Lucky: Well, I just reached our guest, he�s coming tomorrow.

Me: Ok, but aren�t the Putnam�s coming tomorrow from Pennsylvania?

Mr. Lucky: Oh, yeah. Well, guess I should call and confirm they are coming. Just make sure both guest rooms are ready.

Me: Ok, will they want dinner?

Mr. Lucky: Don�t know.

Me:

Friday 7 pm

Mr. Lucky: I got this proxy from the mutual fund company. What should I do with it?

Me:

Friday 8 pm

Mr. Lucky: The light bulb in the lamp above my desk just burned out.

Me: The bulbs are in the furnace room (same place they�ve been for four years).

Mr. Lucky: Can you fix it? I�m really busy right now.

Me:

Friday 8:30 pm

Mr. Lucky: Where did I put my cereal?

Me: On the third pantry shelf ( the same place it�s been for four years )

Mr. Lucky: I can�t find it.

Me:

Friday 9 pm

Mr. Lucky: When is my car registration due?

Me: The dates are on the windshield stickers on your car (the same place they�ve been for the twenty years you�ve lived in this state )

Mr. Lucky: Could you go look?

Me:

Friday 10:30 pm

Mr. Lucky: *shouting over the upstairs railing to me on the couch* Why didn�t you change the sheets today? Didn�t you do laundry?

Me: Because I have been sick with a migraine all day and, despite the pain, I had to finish three custom programming specs for my biggest client that is bringing in about $250,000 to your company over the next six months, and you told me to get the house ready for overnight company � which is now not coming until tomorrow. I already vacuumed the whole place, cleaned up the kitchen and mopped the floor, dusted, cleaned the toilets in the guest rooms, laid out towels, and made sure there was food just in case they needed to eat � WHICH YOU DIDN�T KNOW � changed your light bulb, found your cereal, signed your proxies, and figured out your car registration. Now I�m resting my head so I can try and get to sleep so I can change the sheets and do the laundry, and get to the post office in the morning before your guests arrive.

Mr. Lucky:

Ok � just kidding about the above. Actually what I said was:

Me: Sorry, I�ll have to get to it tomorrow. *sotto voce* and if you�re wondering where you left your brain, Mr. Smartest Man in the Whole World, it�s in the big round ball above your shoulders.

Unless it slipped.

8 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map