Floriday #1 - Redux

2006-03-16
2:26 p.m.

I am in Tampa, Florida again, visiting my best friend Bobbi. And, for the first time, find myself not only in the same time zone, but in the same state as Gabariel. About two hours away in fact. It feels....well, my dreams last night were very, very troubled. But this a subject for some other time.

My birthday was this week, and I find myself (despite best efforts) another year older. With a couple extra wrinkles, a few more saggy bits, and a lot more for L�Oreal Preference to handle. (by the by, thanks to so many of you for remembering and no, Mr. Lucky didn�t � but you knew that).

Maybe because those good wishes were marking the passing of yet another life anniversary without resolution, but they got me to thinking that, as diarists, we spend an inordinate amount of virtual ink on what we don�t like about ourselves. Weekly, sometimes daily, entries dedicated to our �gee if only I coulda, woulda�, �I wish it were different� changes and improvements we want to make.

Today, in honor of my birthday, I choose to dub the rest of this week �National Tell Me What You LIKE About Yourself� week. Go ahead, don�t be shy. Brag a little. Tell the world what you like, no....what you LOVE about yourself in your next entry. Then pat yourself on your deserving back and we will all raise a glass of something bubbly Saturday Night at 10:00 EST to toast our respective wonderfulnesses.

Here, in no particular order, are the top 10 things I LIKE about me:

1. It doesn�t frighten me to fall in love, or do the hard work it takes to maintain the relationship.
2. I have dreams, and I�m not afraid to go for them.
3. I have the courage to fight through everything life wants to throw at me, while enjoying all the good parts.
4. I am willing to take chances without knowing what the end result will be.
5. Being kind is extremely important to me. Not just to humans, but to all living things.
6. I will stand up for what I believe in, without belittling the beliefs of others.
7. I have a good heart and will gladly give it where it is needed most.
8. I indulge my insatiable curiosity by making sure every day is a learning experience.
9. I let myself have fun.
10. I let people know the real me.

These are the things I hope people see. What�s in me, instead of those saggy knees, and weird toes, and the new lines that show up with every passing year.

11 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map