Life Pond Scum

2010-07-28
3:36 p.m.

Hello diary. Been a while again.

And another few punches up side the head. When will the proverbial life-pond consist of ripples instead of crashing waves?

Let�s see � how about the GOOD stuff first.

Bastardo� and I decided to take our first real vacation together. We looked and looked � and nothing seemed to catch his eye. I finally realized our ideas of vacation were different. I wanted to do SOMETHING, and he wanted to do NOTHING. Once I figured it out, I suggested we go somewhere he has been before, that he loves, and that gives us both what we want. So we went down to the all-inclusive resort in the Dominican Republic he�s been to a dozen times (so he�s super familiar with it) that offers everything from NOTHING, to sailing, scuba, aerobics, a gym and dance lessons. The Dreams resort in Punta Cana.

He moderated his sleep days, work nights and I moderated my up at 6:30 am and down at 10:30 pm. I showed him swimming and sailing were fun, we took a couple of dance lessons (which he also loved) and we both slept late and dozed under the palm trees with a pina colada close at hand.

It was a blast! Seven days and nights of bliss and we both said �Let�s go back�.

Then I get home to face reality.

It was a rainless week of 100+ temps in New York and all the grass and new plants I put in before I left were deader than dead.

There was a note from my tenant saying he was moving � fortunately he has given 60 days notice, but it�s the middle of summer and 100 degrees every day so nobody is doing nothing.

So no new hot water heater for now cause��..

Two few days before I left on vacation my boss calls me into the office to let me know that due to low business he was cutting all the administrative staff days down to four paid a week for the next six weeks �and then we�ll see�. Great. A 20% cut in pay AFTER I paid for the vacation. Thanks a lot. And it�s not like there�s a shit-load of jobs out there waiting to suck me in with lucrative salaries and benefits. (Didn�t tell Bastardo� till we got back though � no reason to ruin HIS vacation by worrying about me.)

And no � I still don�t get to see the grandchildren. My grandson�s fourth birthday was July 13, three days after our vacation. My neighbor and his wife took over his presents. Unfortunately they didn�t take a camera. But I did find out the daughter is lying to everyone about why I�m not �allowed� to see the kids. She�s blaming it on my relationship with Bastardo.

Except of course, four months ago while I was sitting in her therapist�s office trying to resolve this issue I agreed to her terms of not ever to bring him around her, or her family. Not on holidays, not during a visit, not even to speak his name to the children (my grandson was old enough to remember him and liked him).

So see � that excuse doesn�t hold water. But it�s a whole lot better than telling the mutual neighbor friends she�s decided I wasn�t a good enough mother to HER, and this is her way of punishing me for the imagined slights of her teen-age years.

And the 90+ degree, 85% humidity days in the depths of New York City march on�and on�..and on.

2 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map