Lurking Redux

2006-08-28
12:29 p.m.


I wrote an entry on lurking last year � and have decided to repost part of it just to say hi again to all of you. And to those of you who have come �out� lately �.HOWDY already, hope you�re not bored yet.

Diaries are a lot like reading a fantasy story book that is delivered in installments.

I learned a new meaning to an old word, "Lurker". I'm sure you already know the word (to me it will always be the lower level denizens of Babylon 5) - but I didn't, being very new to the game of actually writing down my innermost thoughts and allowing other people to see them, comment on them, and make fun of them.

Google says "Lurker" is not a dirty word. The word lurker originally referred to someone who read a news group or followed an electronic conference but never posted or wrote anything to it. Now it includes people that follow along with the storyline of the diary or blog, but who do not participate actively.

I admit it. I'm guilty. I follow a link through a note or comment to someone's diary or profile and then to a listed favorite or two, escaping guiltily, without comment, after perusing recent entries - as if I've found the locked diary of my sister or best friend and managed to get it open without a key. Sometimes I add the link to my IE favorites, sometimes I add them to my Diaryland buddy list so I can remember to come back again and again.

Which brings me to the point of today (which, since I have still have not showered - enjoy the visual - had better come quickly).

I've said before, I never meant to be read. Just to sit quietly pouring out here what could not be poured anywhere else, telling the stories that needed remembering. Then I found I rather liked knowing there were some unknown souls stopping by, and was strangely uplifted in heart and soul by an encouraging note or a comment about a poem or entry.

Now, I am like the junkie who needs a fix. When an entry moves no one, I fear it was bad, ineffective, disappointing, or simply boring. The occasional cute banners bring lookie sees, but I've visited diaries with dozens of people who list them as favorites. And to entries that have as many as 30 comments. What extraordinary pleasure those writers must get in knowing they are affecting another life in some way.

So if you feel the urge - just say hi. Leave a high five, or a raspberry on occasion. If you don't - that's really ok too. You are welcome to come back and visit any time.

Love me, or hate me, just don't let me be lonely.

14 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map