A Trailer (Tailor) New Year's Eve

2012-01-07
1:07 p.m.

I never let living in New Jersey play with my head. I work at 53rd & Broadway everyday - so I'm actually a New York girl, at least for half of my life (and most of the waking part).

I love Manhattan, especially the Village and try a new restaurant from time to time. Went to the Garage Jazz Bar last New Year�s weekend with its upsidedown Christmas tree over the bar and the 10 piece jazz band (who don�t really know one another, new people come in each week and introduce themselves � how�s THAT for being good at what you do???)

After a yummy dinner, we taxied up to a neighborhood theater on 23rd street. He wanted to see �Shame�, but made the mistake of asking me what I wanted to see, so I chose "Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy" which, instead of 007-ish, turned out to be dull, awful, dreary - it's as if they decided to do Le Carre's novel VERBATIM, including all the long descriptive passages. We ended by popping into Trailer Grill across the street just to sit at a plastic table, listen to oldies on cassettes (Big Joe Turner playing and I think the bartender was amazed that I knew!!) and marvel at the original pull handle cigarette machine, the old fashioned coke machine, and the plastic string of colored lanterns that serve for lighting.


PS: really - don't pay good money to see TTSS - wait till it comes free on the telly when you can record it on your DVR and just fast forward through the slow bits (oh, never mind, that's most of the film. Just roll the credits.)

0 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map