Nor'Easter - Thar She Blows

2011-10-30
12:17 p.m.

What a start to the weekend.

Rain - expected.

Snow - expected "brief dusting which won't stick".

Got: A Nor'easter. Rain, then about 3 inches of HEAVY, WET snow that blasted down in high winds. And I'm in the city, which typically gets less snow.

Results: My one block long street has been closed from noon yesterday when a power line went down. Jersey City overwhelmed with power lines down from branches and trees giving way under the weight of the snow which clung to the still-remaining leaves. Lots of trees uprooted, huge branches down everywhere including several on my street, streets closed, airports closed, parks closed, 3 million without power along the coast.

I suppose the funniest was the line of cars that couldn't quite figure out that they were not going to get past the police blockade in the middle of the block, no matter how much they honked their horns. Fortunately the two giant branches that dropped on top of the line JUST missed their bumpers. They did three-point turns and skedaddled the wrong way down my one-way street before any more dropped. And several hours later the police finally got barricades at the corner which prevented a repeat.

BUT: it's supposed to be 50 tomorrow. And my ex, despite being a regular a**hole about so many things, convinced me to buy a Marmot last year and I will be toasty warm and dry no matter what.

Now, if they could just get my street open!!

2 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map