A Revolution of Resolutions

2005-12-30
10:19 a.m.

New Year�s Eve is just around the corner, the time when many of us begin considering how we want to improve our lives in the New Year. I�m not sure why January 1 is the time we start, instead of December 23 or February 12 or April 4. Perhaps January 1 represents the proverbial clean slate, a significant milestone date less easy to ignore.

I have made dozens upon dozens of resolutions across the years. Most were forgotten by the end of January. Some would continue through another month or two, then be buried under the pressure of everything piling on top of me. A very few would stick longer, getting lost from time to time amongst the rubble, then resurfacing to remind me of the promises I had made to myself. And I almost always would try again. I suppose it was the thought that if they were strong enough to come back and haunt me, I should be wise enough to listen.

In a brief moment of poor poor pitiful me recently I wrote up four resolutions (yes THOSE resolutions). *shaking head* Having squared my shoulders, and planted my feet firmly back on the ground, I am scrapping those ridiculous resolutions.

Resolutions should be designed to improve your life, and the lives of those around you. For making changes and moving forward in a positive way, for becoming the person you always wanted to be. Or for helping someone else to be the person they always wanted to be. Even if it�s just one step, or one person, at a time.

I�m not sure how the above leads to this. Perhaps because I was reminded today that each person has within themselves an almost unlimited supply of strength and courage if we just take the time to look.

The following comment was posted on August 25 in response to I Hope You Dance:

�jen - 2005-08-25 03:37:17
the timing of the entry is eerie to me. sunday afternoon i mustered up the courage to tell him to leave. his response was to give me a swollen, bruised cheekbone, broken clavical and a fractured scaphoid. my courage fled as i lied to the er doctor, my children and friends. i wish i could borrow a cup or two of your courage. thank you for being real. your diary has been the best part of my day many many times. Especially today.�

As a result, I left The First Step is the Hardest posted on my sidebar as �Abuse Hotline Links�, and often wondered how she was doing and wished I could have helped more.

And today I got this in my email.

�jen - 2005-12-28 21:19:30
A while ago, I came to this site and was moved by your experience with abuse. I left a brief message about my situation having been brutally attacked by my husband resulting in a broken wrist and collarbone. I just wanted to update you. I took a deep breath and faced the great unknown and started the divorce. I am safe. My children are safe and even though it is a struggle financially and emotionally, I have hope for my future. Thank you for sharing your story. It gave me a courage which I didn't know I had.
Love, jen�

Which goes to show that we all have it in us. We all have the ability to change and grow, to be greater than anyone expected of us. We all have the ability to be the person we want to see when we look in the mirror � the person that has been living quietly, sometimes hidden away, in our heart, and in our mind.

So if you�re going to make New Year�s Resolutions this year, make one really big important one. Make one life-changing or life-saving one. Make one that is big enough, and strong enough, to haunt you until you make it happen.

Jen, we�re all proud of you. And if you need any help � just reach out.


I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Living might mean taking chances, but they're worth taking
Loving might be a mistake but it's worth making
Don't let some hell bent heart leave you bitter
When you come close to selling out, reconsider
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
I hope you dance

~~Lee Ann Womack

5 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map