Roller Coaster Redux

2012-05-02
4:22 p.m.

Somewhat recently I became a much less significant other. Now I find myself involved with a very different and unusually non-committal (for me) friend who�s a boy. He once said our getting together for a drink after work was just a good opportunity for �nsa, meaningless � even if fantastic � sex�. On the other hand, this is also the same NSA guy who takes me to the most wonderful places on a regular basis and the meaningless activities afterward actually ARE quite fantastic.

Maybe it�s just as well we enjoy a relationship without the sentiment that turns the brain to mush and the heart to jello. Who really wants to ride a roller coaster every day?

The older you get, the longer it takes to trust the other person because we've got so much more history to overcome. We know what the pain and heartache and despair of losing love feels like. Hurt me once, shame on you. Hurt me twice, shame on me. It�s easier to just close off the possibilities.

But love counts for half of something. And raw courage is the other half. Maybe someday we will both figure out what we�re running away from, and stop allowing the past to decide the future.

1 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map