I Know What you Mean

2010-01-13
4:52 p.m.

A man is not old until his regrets take the place of dreams.

- - - - John Barrymore, "Good Night, Sweet Prince" 1943

Today as I left the subway platform I walked by two reasonably attractive soldiers (yes, New York subways have soldiers....who knew)and couldn't help but smile.

Not a flirty smile.....

Not a come to me baby smile.....

Just a smile.

They were cute - what can I say.

And it wasn't that many years ago when that smile would have gotten one in return.

Today?

Not even a blink. or a nod.

(and we all know a nod is as good as a blink *channeling Rod Stewart here*)

So I tucked a defeated chin to my chest and trudged on down the path, up the stairs, and the several blocks to work.

With a few sighs of my own.

Said the little boy, �Sometimes I drop my spoon.�
Said the old man, �I do that too.�
The little boy whispered, �I wet my pants.�
�I do that too,� laughed the old man.�
Said the little boy, �I often cry.�
The old man nodded, �So do I.�
�But worst of all,� said the boy, �it seems
Grown-ups don�t pay attention to me.�
And he felt the warmth of a wrinkled old hand.
�I know what you mean,� said the old man.

- - - - Shel Silverstein

2 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map