Happy Birthday

Thursday, Jul. 13, 2006
10:00 p.m.

This is Radiogurl in disguise as NiciM, who asked me several months ago to do a guest entry for her. Real life conspired against me so many times that I'd essentially given up and decided it wasn't going to happen.

I was really disappointed until tonight, when I get to make good on that months-old promise in a very special way.

I have the immense privilege of letting you know that our own NiciM is a brand new grandma! Little Noodle(TM), made his appearance this afternoon at 1:24pm EST. He weighed in at 6 pounds 12 ounces. His actual name has not yet been determined, either here or in real life. While I'm fond of "Little Noodle," myself, I would venture to guess that won't be their final answer.

This world is scaryThe newest family member has "dark hair, blue eyes (well, for now of course) light skin, and two big dimples, one on either side." And I've been assured that the new mommy and daddy and grandmama are all doing fine, as well!

A very excited telephone conversation this evening told me that NiciM is deliriously happy to be able to see and hold this lovely new life in her arms - in fact, she said she got about an hour of quality time holding him. She had several pictures and the added frustration of being unable to either edit or upload while at her daughter's home, so asked me to do the honors - which I'm absolutely delighted to do.

More pictures:

I want my mommy - or my grandma
The Full family
Daddy is proud
Telling Mom all about it

Some things really are worth the wait, after all. It took nine months' wait for this treasure to be unveiled!

For what it's worth, NiciM pulled away from home at about 3am EST, and arrived (by way of the Lincoln Tunnel at rush hour in Manhatten!) in plenty of time to welcome her new grandson into the world after much hand holding and a couple of scares.

Not everything went smoothly. It seems that at two points during labor, Little Noodle's heart stopped and caesarean was considered as an emergency measure. But in the end, he arrived by natural means and as you can see above, is carrying a healthy dose of the family's "beautiful" genes.

Welcome to the world, Little Noodle. The world has just become a better place because you are here.

17 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map