Random Ramblings - Sometimes Ya Just Wanna Talk

2005-08-22
10:42 a.m.

Lost, yesterday, somewhere between sunrise and sunset, twelve golden hours, each set with sixty diamond minutes. No reward is offered for they are gone forever.
~~Horace Mann


Today�s entry is a hodge podgy bloggy diary like thingy. Something you absolutely never get from me. Don�t worry � I�ll be back to my old self tomorrow or the next day. But I don�t want to forget to tell you about:

First � my darling Fallen Angel has terrorized my dreams and waking hours with spiders, monsters, and now people who sew their orifices shut. No really. They SEW them (and I will stop here in the name of decency) completely shut with huge catgut stringy things and god knows the size of the needles required. And he shows me pictures. AAACK.

Did I mention that needles of any kind terrify me? When my migraine medication was first tested, it was only available in the form of injections. I had to give them to myself and I would wait until I was dying before I could do it. And it was an injectable tube with a spring loaded button (about the size of the perfect vibrator!!). You couldn�t even see the needle.

Second, the dear Radiogurl and the darling Wild Rosie seem to have moved forward some on their whole relationship business, and I wanted to tell you I�m so proud of you both! And my lover Ric has gotten his computer thingy straightened out somewhat and has decided not to retire from my world quite yet, for which I am exceedingly grateful.

Thirdly, you may have missed the absolutely wonderful (and very unexpected) comment Gabriel left on a recent entry The Woman in the Moon as I posted the story about Auntie shortly after. And I cannot resist wanting to share it with you because he writes so beautifully and is so worth sharing. Go, read, borrow it to send to your own loved ones. I�ll wait. *sigh*

Fourthly � the comments counter function in DLand was broken a couple days ago (not just in my diary but others as well) and I emailed Andrew. He ANSWERED with a real email, and it was fixed shortly. WOW!!! While he�s always fixed anything I�ve emailed him about it usually just happens without a response.

And lastly, let me tell you about yesterday - one of my most un-favorite days lately.

Mr. Lucky: �I need something business casual to wear next week. What is that?�

I describe it.

Mr. Lucky: �I think I need something new.�

I suggest the local mall as it has Banana Republic, J. Crew, Abercrombie, Hechts (Macy's) etc.

Mr. Lucky: �Go with me. I don't know what to pick out or whether it looks good.�

Rats.

Why, would the more curious among us ask, does he need to go purchase new clothes for a one day event when he has hundreds of shirts, dozens of polos and tees, jackets and casual pants hanging in his half of the gi-normous 13 x 21 foot double racked closet?

Because he simply must buy everything on sale or representative of a price point and style he remembers from the early 60's. Which means the poorest of quality, color and fit. Then wear it to death before washing or dry cleaning the first time. Then, even though it has faded, shrunk, discolored, stretched, is no longer an appropriate size, or gotten holes in it, KEEP IT FOREVER.....just in case.

We went to the store, then, being as it was his birthday, we joined his family in the private room at their restaurant for dinner. His brother had invited two very old friends of Mr. Lucky�s to stop by and say Happy Happy. These two know most of the family since they are restaurant regulars, but have never met me. They arrived shortly before the cake was served.

Mr. Lucky jumps up from his seat beside me, very happy to see them and after chatting for several minutes inside the room, wanders off with them to the bar. While 12 of us sit at the table waiting for his return so we can do the singing bit and cut the cake. I finally went to find him and he said his goodbyes as I stood there. Got some phone numbers as I stood there. Waved and walked off as I stood there. I returned to the room and served the cake.

By the way � this is not unusual. For the first ten or so years we hosted a black tie party every August (along with another friend) and invited 350 of our closest friends � most of whom showed up. The friend (a woman) and I put the whole thing together, including the invites, arranging the room, decorating, hiring the staff, etc. It was a huge amount of work, and clean-up, even with staff.

Mr. Lucky and I would arrive at the party together, and I wouldn�t see him again until it was time to leave. Along about the fifth year I was at the buffet when I heard two women behind me talking.

�I heard Mr. Lucky has been living with someone. Do you know who it is?�

�Nope. Wonder if she�s here?�

OK. I need to stop now. He must have some reasonably good qualities, or I would obviously appear quite the idiot for even beginning the relationship, and certainly for staying with it this long. Maybe I'll think of some before I leave.

Your regularly scheduled programming will resume shortly.

�See, the problem is that God gives men a brain and a penis, and only enough blood to run one at a time."
~~Robin Williams

5 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map