A Blackberry Moment

2008-07-11
9:32 p.m.

Hello friends. It�s me � alive and well and living in New Jersey. Enough said.

The house continues to improve, especially with a handyman daughter that takes after her dear old mum. She�s already laid bamboo flooring on the entire second floor and as I write this, she is about 60% of the way done building a 25 x 15 deck in the back yard.

By herself.

She hated the weedsnotgrass, the uneven concrete slabs that passed for walkways, and the fact that the entire space was cattywampus. So the just off the ground level deck adds a nice flat surface to sit, play, talk, etc. And it will be less buggy than the weedsnotgrass.

And with Travis�s second birthday on Sunday � the deck will come into play!!

Work progresses as well. Still enamored with the new position I got thrust into � and the boss finally giving in so that most is computerized. Ahhhh � pure satisfaction. Love my secretary and the world is good. Wish the walk were less from the closest subway � but I guess it helps to keep me fit. And I bought a new winter coat this summer (doesn�t everyone?) that is supposed to be guaranteed warm. At least according to many New Yorkers I�ve spoken to, including a couple of mountain climbers. Marmot. But what do I know.

Bastardo Romantico is still�..well�.. maybe one of the greatest men I�ve had the fortune to be loved by. Not long ago he asked me if I believed he loved me. And I replied � mostly. Hey � honesty ya know. It hurt his feelings. So I finally broke down and told him the Gabriel/Arc-Angel666 story. And that perhaps if the chemo hadn�t come in the middle it wouldn�t have affected me so greatly. But it did�.and it did�.and while it isn�t fair to judge anyone else by the cadthatisgabriel, it also left me a bit wary when someone says I love you too quickly. Or is too perfect. Or too kind. Or too anything.

He took it in stride. He didn�t like hearing about another guy, of course (do any of them � although they will happily tell us their complete history from the first time forward including names and dates � such as they can remember them) but said after he thought about it he understood a little better what was holding me back.

And a funny thing happened. Having told the story�..I stopped expecting Bastardo to be anyone except Bastardo. Oh � he�s not perfect � he�s the first to tell you he�s a Bastardo Romantico. But he�s darn near perfect for me. And I�m not going to lose him because I�m afraid there�s another shoe ready to drop.

When I went to see him last night there was a present waiting for me. He�d gotten me a Blackberry phone with all the trimmings because he has one, loves it, and wanted me to have the pleasure of owning one.

And there�s the difference. Gabriel said go get a different phone with his provider and he�d pay for it. So I did�.and he didn�t.

Bastardo said � here. This is a gift for you to enjoy because I care about you. No hidden strings attached.

3 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map