Reality Check

2008-01-17
7:41 p.m.

I WILL NOT WATCH REALITY SHOWS. Period. End of Story.

A resolution that was easy to keep. Good GOD �

Celebrity Bullriding
Boy Meets Boy
Celebrity Paranormal
Extreme Fakeovers
He�s A Lady
Pimp My Ride
The Rebel Billionaire
Who Wants to Date A Hooter�s Girl

Almost 574 of these awful things have been, or are being, aired across all the major television channels according to Reality Shows dot com. Watch your peers lose weight, eat bugs, sing, dance, get lost on five of the seven continents, and make a general fool of themselves.

Then American Idol came onto the scene. No bugs, no silly teen-age dating scenarios, no baseball bats in the balls. Just everyday boys and girls attempting to make it in the big time. Well, and the silliness of the auditions of course. I�m hooked on Idol and have been since the very first show.

And once my resolution was broken � it only made sense I could peek in on one or two more. Just the educational ones of course. I�m a dancer, �So You Think You Can Dance� would be perfectly acceptable. I have enough experience to know what the judges were looking for and maybe I�d pick up a few hot moves. �Top Chef� assured some delicious recipes to try out on unsuspecting guests. �Project Runway� gave me great ideas for using recyclables and the wrappers from that leftover Halloween candy to create fashion masterworks. �Hell�s Kitchen� � well who doesn�t enjoy cheering on a grown man while he humiliates other grown men and women for incompetence in their chosen field.

I still don�t �Survive� or �Date�, or �Makeover�. I don�t �Celebrity� anything. (Well, it was fun watching Omarosa serving up a cold dish on Trump�s shindig. Maybe I�ll check out a few more chapters and see how Gene Simmons makes out against all the pretty boys and girls!!)

So with American Idol starting a new season lil ol� me can be found in front of my TiVo two nights at week, fast forwarding through the commercials to get to the nuts in Mohawks and chicken suits!

2 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map