And Baby Makes Three

2005-12-03
7:27 p.m.

It has been an interesting week and this will be a boring entry. So perhaps you may want to come back tomorrow - or Monday.

Arrived home Tuesday morning from San Diego at 1:30 am. Left nine hours later on a plane to Albany NY, arranged so I could interview a client during his flight home from my home town. We finished the interview at the airport and two hours later I flew back to Manhattan for two days of work with his company.

And a visit with Morgan and her husband of course. Where I was greeted with the lovliest of news. And baby makes three. If all goes well, next July we will welcome a bouncing baby someone. We spent one dinner considering names. I teased that the best option is that they get the first and last names, and each family could choose one of the middle ones. The child would have six names (she/he will have three last names) - but that's two less than Morgan's husband who has eight. And, besides, it gives me a chance to give a child in the family my all-time favorite name.

Meanwhile, on the train ride home yesterday, Gabriel misunderstood an (admittedly) poorly phrased comment I made regarding Morgan's concern for my welfare. His emotions are very raw right now, and the words I used just tripped a nerve, which, in turn, stirred up some of my old fears as well.

I know, logically, he wasn't angry with me, but it left me surprisingly sad for two reasons. First, it made me feel that maybe I can't talk to him about everything - at least not now. And second, since I have so little family, his feelings about members of it are very, very disconcerting. I hope, someday, he will understand, and that he can come to appreciate how loving children sometimes feel it necessary to don the role of their parent's parent. (and honey, if you ever read this, go read your email too....I hope I explained it much better there)

You can now return to your regularly scheduled - and infinitely more interesting - programming.

Oh - and remind me to tell you of the phone calls I got from both Jason and Ben over the holiday. Interesting - both of them.

7 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map