Strikes and Wildfires

2007-12-01
10:11 a.m.

"Blink and it's gone.
A moment, a breath,
A Dance of the Mayflies.
Just enough...For a Lifetime."

--ULATEMPA POETESS, "Rhythms"
CY 9825


Life can really be a bitch. You know? Here I am, trying desperately to forget him, and what happened over the last couple of years, (yes, I know we must learn from our mistakes � and learn I have � but give a girl the pleasure of selective amnesia, ok?)

And what do I get?

Wildfires in Malibu. Not once, but twice! (was his house saved?)

Hollywood Writer�s Strike (was he on the picket line again this time?)?

LSU in the playoffs

Pirates playing on DVD

Angel stories in my bedside short story collection

TV shows about internet romance

The scent of his cologne wafting from the department store counter on Christmas sale

AARGH!!

And to cap it all off � as if that weren�t enough - I am dressing to go out and picked up one of my favorite pieces of jewelry. A locket my daughter gave me many years ago. Her pictures were always in it � baby and current. Two and a half years ago I replaced one of them with his and wore it every day, even kissing it occasionally when I thought of him or he of me. Mentally sending him love and strength (as if I had it to spare!!)

Now, to go along with the amnesia theory, all the pictures of him, both electronic and printed were carefully and systematically eradicated from my environment. Logical, yes?

And what happens? I open up the darn thing and there he is staring back at me.

BAH HUMBUG twice over.

Running late, I put it down, but as soon as I returned home that enigmatic photo went in the trash with all the rest of the garbage I don�t need in my life. HAH!

3 reviews

last & next

Copyright� 2004-2011 NiciM

Get Your Own MapView Larger Map